Welcome to the Department of Physics web page.

The Department of Physics at Pachhunga University College was started in 1974 to provide intermediate pre-university course (equivalent to XI & XII in the current system). Later in the early 80s, undergraduate degree program in physics both B.Sc. General and B.Sc. Honours were introduced under the administration of North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) as a constituent college. Since, then the department runs as one of the most popular physics departments among other colleges under NEHU and subsequently under Mizoram University. The contribution of vibrant, motivated and well qualified teaching faculty both past and present generated a number of successful alumni, who are now working in various public and private sectors. In the last 5 – 7 years alone, the department consistently produces students who are qualified in admission entrance of reputed institutions all over the country.

In addition to active classroom teachings, the faculty members are actively involved in research. At present, there are two DST sponsored Major Research Projects in the department. Two students are pursuing Ph.D. degree from Mizoram University under the guidance of faculty members of the department. Consistently, the faculty members publish research articles in peer-reviewed national and international journals. At present, research works are going on in various fields including Condensed Matter Physics (both theoretical and experimental), radon measurements and mobile tower radiation study..

Students Profile:

The department receive on an average 200 number of applications for B.Sc. in Physics. However, the ideal capacity with the existing infrastructure is only about 45 students. In addition to B.Sc. with Physics Core, there are students from other departments who opted to study Physics as their elective paper. In total, the department has 120 students (approx.) in Ist Semester to 4th Semester. Under the existing CBCS system adopted by the Mizoram University, the students continuing to 5th and 6th Semesters graduate with B.Sc. in Physics.

Teaching & Non-Teaching Staff:

Presently there are 07 teaching staff and 02 non-teaching staff in the department. All the teaching staff are with Ph.D. degree and most of them are CSIR-UGC-NET qualified. Teachers are from different background. Some of them got their Ph.D. degree from IIT, Mizoram University, Manipur University and Assam University.  

The two Non-Teaching Staff are

      1. Mr. H. Lal_, Laboratory Assistant

      2. Mr. R. D. Lalthansanga, Laboratory Assistant


There are about 20 books in the department library. The department has very well equipped laboratories for conducting  its academic programme. There are 4 laboratories - General Laboratory, Electronics Laboratory, Dark room laboratory and Heat room laboratory for conducting classes for B.Sc. students. The department is also equipped with one Departmental Room (DR) for its 5th and 6th Semester Students. I - IV Semester classes are conducted in General Science classrooms in Old Science Building adjacent to the Physical Sciences Building.

In addition to infrastructure for normal classroom teaching, the department along with other departments in the Physical Sciences Building is now provided a spacious research laboratory. With funding from UGC and DST through Minor and Major Research Projects, the department has research equipments including Solar Simulator, Keithley Source-Meter, Spin Coating Unit, Digital Muffle Furnace, Hot Air Oven, Magnetic Stirrer, etc. For computational works, the department has also procured two Work Station CPUs

List of former teaching faculty :

1. Dr. D. K. Barkakati (former Head) - 1978 - 2012

2. Dr. R. K. Thapa - 1980 - 2007

3. Dr. A. K. Das - .... - 2002

4. Dr. V. K. Gautam - ..... - 2002

5. Dr. Y.N, Tiwari - ..... - 2002

6. Dr. Atul Saxena - ..... - 2002

8. Dr. M. Roy - ....... - 2002

9. Dr. Chitaranjan Paul

10. Dr. T.B. Gosh

Former non-teaching staff:

1. Mr. C. Chawngthuamliana

Link to Google Site: https://sites.google.com/site/pucphysics/